Your botanical extract passed the supplier's UV-Vis assay. Curcuminoid content: 95.2%. Identity: confirmed. COA issued. Shipment released.
Then your third-party testing facility runs HPTLC against a USP reference standard. The chromatographic fingerprint fails. The Rf zones don't match. Unknown bands appear where there should be none. Your identity test result — the one required by FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75 — is a failure.
This is not a testing anomaly. It is a predictable, documented outcome when UV-Vis spectrophotometry is used as the sole basis for botanical identity verification. UV-Vis measures light absorption — it cannot separate, identify, or fingerprint botanical compounds. Any adulterant that absorbs light at the target wavelength will produce a passing result.
This guide explains why UV-Vis fails identity testing, how HPTLC and HPLC work as the orthogonal standards, and what your incoming QC specification must require to satisfy both FDA cGMP identity requirements and third-party audit expectations.
UV-Vis spectrophotometry is a non-specific method that measures the total absorbance of light in a solution at a given wavelength. It cannot distinguish between structurally different compounds that share the same UV absorption maximum. An adulterant such as a synthetic food dye, a cheap flavonoid extract, or an off-spec botanical substitution that absorbs light at the target wavelength — for example, 418 nm for curcumin or 280 nm for catechins — will produce a passing UV-Vis result regardless of its botanical identity. HPTLC (High-Performance Thin-Layer Chromatography), by contrast, physically separates the compound mixture across a stationary phase by polarity, generating a visible chromatographic fingerprint with compound-specific Rf (retardation factor) values, colors, and UV fluorescence patterns under 254 nm and 366 nm detection. This fingerprint is compared against an authenticated botanical reference standard. A mismatch — missing bands, extra bands, or wrong Rf positions — confirms identity failure that UV-Vis cannot detect. Under FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75, identity testing must use a test method that is specific to the ingredient; USP botanical monographs mandate HPTLC as the identity test precisely because UV-Vis does not meet this specificity requirement.
UV-Vis spectrophotometry measures how much light a solution absorbs at a specific wavelength. When a solution is placed in the instrument's light path, the absorbance reading follows Beer-Lambert's law: absorbance is proportional to concentration of the absorbing species. For botanical extract quality control, this is used to estimate the concentration of a target compound class — for example, total curcuminoids at 418 nm in ethyl acetate, or total polyphenols at 765 nm by Folin-Ciocalteu, or total catechins at 280 nm.
The fundamental limitation is that UV-Vis is measuring total absorbance, not the specific compound. It does not separate the solution's components. It does not identify what is producing the absorbance signal. Any compound or mixture of compounds that absorbs light at the target wavelength will contribute to the reading — and the instrument cannot distinguish them.
UV-Vis spectrophotometry answers only: "How much total light is absorbed at this wavelength?" It cannot answer: "Is this light absorption coming from the authentic compound I specified?" A 95% curcuminoid reading by UV-Vis at 418 nm could originate from: genuine curcumin, demethoxycurcumin, and bisdemethoxycurcumin in the correct ratio — OR — synthetic curcumin — OR — a mixture of tartrazine (Yellow #5), sunset yellow, and other azo dyes — OR — a low-potency curcumin extract spiked with quercetin or rutin — OR — any combination of compounds absorbing near 418 nm in the solvent system used. The UV-Vis instrument reports the same absorbance number for all of these. Only chromatographic separation (HPTLC or HPLC) can distinguish them.
| What UV-Vis Measures | What UV-Vis Cannot Measure |
|---|---|
| Total light absorbance at a specified wavelength (λmax) | The chemical identity of the absorbing species |
| Estimated total concentration of a compound class (e.g., total curcuminoids) | The ratio of individual compounds within that class (e.g., curcumin : DMC : BDMC) |
| Relative potency of a bulk extract vs. a standard curve | The botanical origin (genus, species, plant part) of the extract |
| Gross adulteration with non-absorbing fillers (chalk, starch) — detectable as reduced absorbance | Adulteration with compounds absorbing at the same wavelength — undetectable |
| Rapid screening for approximate active content — useful as a first pass | Species substitution, synonym substitution, or whole-plant part substitution |
Table 1 — UV-Vis Spectrophotometry: What It Measures vs. What It Cannot Determine for Botanical Identity
Pöll et al. (J. Nat. Prod. 2023, 86, 460–472) documented schemes by which lower-cost materials are added to botanical extracts specifically designed to evade detection by HPLC-UV/vis assays. The paper demonstrates that food dyes can be readily detected using HPTLC while remaining invisible to UV-Vis spectrophotometric assays. For ginkgo extracts specifically, 48 out of 59 commercial dietary supplements were found to contain one or more adulterants when analyzed by HPTLC — adulterants that were undetectable by the flavonoid-based UV-Vis assays previously used for identity and potency screening (ScienceDirect, 2019). HPTLC identified adulterants including rutin, quercetin, sophora fruit, buckwheat, and other extraneous botanical materials that passed UV-Vis screening.
| Target Botanical | Target λmax (UV-Vis) | Adulterant / Substitution | Why UV-Vis Fails to Detect It | Detection Method Required |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curcumin 95% (Turmeric extract) | 418 nm (ethyl acetate) | Tartrazine (Yellow #5), sunset yellow FCF, metanil yellow, synthetic curcumin — all absorb near 418–425 nm | Synthetic dyes produce the same absorbance reading as authentic curcuminoids at 418 nm; no spectral differentiation possible | HPTLC (fingerprint of curcumin, DMC, BDMC bands); HPLC (individual curcuminoid quantification); Carbon-14 (natural vs. synthetic origin) |
| Green Tea Extract / EGCG | 280 nm (polyphenol absorbance) | Cheap catechin blends with altered EGCG:ECG:EGC:EC ratios; quercetin; rutin; synthetic catechin-like phenolics | All polyphenols absorb broadly at 280 nm; UV-Vis cannot distinguish EGCG from other catechins or non-catechin polyphenols | HPLC (individual catechin profile with Rs ≥ 2.0 separation of EGCG from GCG); HPTLC fingerprint against USP reference |
| Ginkgo Biloba Extract | 360–370 nm (flavonols after hydrolysis) | Rutin, quercetin, sophora fruit and flower bud extract, buckwheat — all produce flavonol absorbance at 360–370 nm | Any flavonol-containing extract produces the same total flavonoid reading; HPTLC study found 81% of commercial supplements contained undisclosed adulterants passing UV-Vis | HPTLC (mandatory in USP ginkgo monograph); HPLC for rutin ≤4% and quercetin ≤0.5% limits per USP |
| Echinacea Extract | 330 nm (caffeic acid derivatives) | Chicory root extract, other caffeic acid-rich botanicals — produce identical UV absorption profile | Caffeic acid derivatives from multiple plant sources are spectrally identical; origin and species cannot be determined by wavelength alone | HPTLC (species-specific fingerprint); DNA PCR (species confirmation); HPLC (alkylamide and polysaccharide markers) |
| Ashwagandha (Withanolide extract) | 232 nm (withanolides) | Cheaper Withania species; other steroidal lactone sources; chemical synthesis intermediates | Multiple plant species and synthetic steroidal compounds absorb at 232 nm; UV-Vis cannot discriminate species or verify withanolide class authenticity | HPLC-DAD (withaferin A, withanolide D quantification); HPTLC fingerprint; TLC vs. authenticated reference |
Table 2 — Adulteration Scenarios Where UV-Vis Passes and Chromatographic Methods Detect Failure
Three primary analytical techniques are used in botanical extract quality control. Each answers different questions: UV-Vis — answers "How much total chromophore is in this solution?" (fast, non-specific, low cost; inadequate alone for identity). HPTLC — answers "Does this extract's chromatographic fingerprint match the authenticated botanical reference standard?" (specific, visual, mandatory for USP identity compliance; used in FDA 21 CFR Part 111 cGMP botanical identity verification). HPLC — answers "What are the exact concentrations of individual target compounds in this extract, and what is their ratio?" (quantitative, compound-specific, required for potency claims and USP assay compliance). Under FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75, identity testing must use a test that is specific to the ingredient — UV-Vis does not meet this criterion. HPTLC is the USP-specified identity method for most botanical monographs. HPLC is the USP-specified assay (potency) method. Both are required for full USP compliance.
| Analytical Parameter | UV-Vis Spectrophotometry | HPTLC | HPLC (RP-HPLC or HPLC-PDA) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary Function | Total chromophore quantification in solution | Chromatographic fingerprint identity comparison | Compound-specific quantification with identity confirmation |
| Separates Compounds? | No — measures total mixture absorbance | Yes — TLC plate separation by polarity; Rf values and band colors | Yes — reversed-phase column separation; retention time and area |
| Specificity for Botanical Identity | None — non-specific; any absorbing compound passes | High — species-specific fingerprint; compares Rf zones and UV fluorescence to authenticated reference | High — individual compound peaks; retention times specific to chemical structure |
| Detects Species Substitution? | No | Yes — missing/extra bands vs. reference; Rf zone pattern mismatch | Partially — unexpected peaks or missing expected peaks indicate substitution |
| Detects Synthetic Adulterants (same λmax)? | No — passes adulterants absorbing at target wavelength | Yes — synthetic compounds produce different Rf zones and band colors from authentic botanical | Yes — synthetic compounds elute at different retention times |
| Detects Extraneous Botanical Adulterants? | No — if adulterant absorbs at same wavelength | Yes — HPTLC fingerprint shows extra bands from extraneous botanicals | Yes — extra peaks in HPLC chromatogram indicate extraneous compounds |
| Quantitative Accuracy | Approximate — class-level estimation; no compound-specific calibration | Semi-quantitative — densitometric scanning gives peak areas; less precise than HPLC | High — validated calibration curve; ±2% RSD typical for well-optimized methods |
| FDA 21 CFR Part 111.75 Identity Compliance | Does NOT meet specificity requirement | Meets identity specificity requirement | Meets identity and assay requirements when properly validated |
| USP Botanical Monograph Role | Not specified as primary identity method in most USP botanical monographs | Primary identity method — USP <203> TLC identification; species-specific plates and reference standards | Primary assay (potency) method; limit test method for adulterant markers (e.g., rutin, quercetin in ginkgo) |
| Cost per Test | $10–30 (low) | $100–250 (moderate) | $80–200 (moderate) |
| Throughput | High — multiple samples simultaneously | Moderate — 10–20 samples per TLC plate | Moderate — sequential injection; 30–90 min per sample |
| Appropriate Use in QC Workflow | Initial gross screening; quantitative confirmation after HPTLC identity passes; NOT as sole identity method | Mandatory first-line identity test for all incoming botanical raw materials per cGMP | Mandatory potency assay and marker compound ratio verification |
Table 3 — UV-Vis vs. HPTLC vs. HPLC: Complete Analytical Capability Comparison for Botanical QC
HPTLC (High-Performance Thin-Layer Chromatography) is a planar chromatographic technique in which a sample extract is applied as a narrow band onto a silica gel or modified silica stationary phase plate, then developed (eluted) in a mobile phase solvent system inside a closed chamber. Compounds in the sample migrate at speeds determined by their polarity relative to the stationary and mobile phases — producing separation by Rf (retardation factor) value. Following development, the plate is examined under white light and UV light at 254 nm (quenching detection) and 366 nm (fluorescence detection), and optionally treated with derivatization reagents (e.g., anisaldehyde, vanillin-sulfuric acid, Dragendorff's reagent) that produce compound-class-specific color reactions. The resulting multi-detection image is the chromatographic fingerprint — a visual map of the botanical's chemical composition. The fingerprint is compared against an authenticated botanical reference standard run under identical conditions on the same plate. Band position (Rf), color, UV fluorescence, and pattern must match the reference. Adulterants — whether synthetic compounds, extraneous botanicals, or alternative species — produce deviations that are immediately visible as extra bands, missing bands, or incorrect Rf positions.
| HPTLC Observation | Interpretation | Action Required |
|---|---|---|
| All expected bands present at correct Rf values, matching reference colors and UV fluorescence | PASS — Identity confirmed. Extract is consistent with declared botanical species and plant part. | Proceed to HPLC potency assay. Release batch to production if potency also passes. |
| Expected bands present BUT additional unknown bands detected | FAIL — Possible adulteration. Unknown bands indicate extraneous compounds — either adulterant species, added synthetic compounds, or wrong plant part (e.g., leaf vs. root). | Hold batch. Investigate additional bands by HPLC-MS for compound ID. Issue supplier SCAR. Do not release. |
| Expected bands present at wrong Rf positions | FAIL — Possible species substitution. Different species within the same genus (e.g., Curcuma zedoaria instead of Curcuma longa) may produce similar but shifted band patterns. | Hold batch. Run DNA barcoding for species confirmation. Issue supplier SCAR. |
| No bands detected or blank plate | FAIL — Possible gross adulteration or extraction failure. No botanical marker compounds present at detectable level. | Reject batch immediately. Issue supplier disqualification review. |
| Reduced band intensity vs. reference, correct positions | SUSPECT — Possible dilution. Pattern correct but concentration below expected level; may indicate under-extraction or dilution with inactive filler. | Confirm with HPLC potency assay. If potency fails, reject batch as under-specification. |
| Expected bands missing, extra high-Rf bands present | FAIL — Possible lipid/wax contamination or wrong extraction stage. | Investigate extraction method and solvent residuals. Hold batch pending investigation. |
Table 4 — HPTLC Identity Test Interpretation Guide for Botanical Extract Incoming QC
HPTLC results are sensitive to experimental conditions — temperature, humidity, plate pre-conditioning, solvent saturation time, application volume, and derivatization reagent freshness all affect Rf values and band intensities. The USP and CAMAG (Association for Thin-Layer Chromatography) recommend fully standardized, validated HPTLC procedures using automated applicators (e.g., CAMAG ATS), controlled chamber saturation, and densitometric scanning rather than visual-only assessment. A "comprehensive HPTLC fingerprinting" approach using multiple detection modes (UV 254 nm, UV 366 nm, white light before and after derivatization) provides the most reliable identity confirmation. COA HPTLC reports without a stated method reference, documented plate conditions, reference standard lot number, and digitized plate image are insufficient for regulatory identity documentation.
HPLC (High-Performance Liquid Chromatography) and its derivatives (HPLC-PDA, HPLC-DAD, UHPLC) are the gold standard for quantifying specific marker compounds in botanical extracts. Where HPTLC confirms botanical origin and gross composition, HPLC answers: "How much EGCG specifically? What is the curcumin:DMC:BDMC ratio? Are the USP adulteration limit markers — rutin and quercetin in ginkgo — within the pharmacopeial specification?"
| Botanical | HPLC Target Markers | Key Specification | USP Reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Green Tea Extract (EGCG) | EGCG, ECG, EGC, EC, GCG (individual catechin profile); caffeine | EGCG ≥X% of declared; Rs ≥2.0 between EGCG and GCG; GCG ≤1.0% (anti-epimerization QC); catechin ratio consistent with authentic GTE | USP Dietary Supplement Compendium; USP-1236700 reference standard |
| Curcumin 95% (Turmeric extract) | Curcumin, demethoxycurcumin (DMC), bisdemethoxycurcumin (BDMC) | Total curcuminoids ≥95%; curcumin:DMC:BDMC ratio consistent with authentic Curcuma longa (~75–80%:15–20%:<5%); detect ratio manipulation as fraud indicator | USP Curcuma longa monograph; HPLC as assay method |
| Ginkgo Biloba Extract | Flavonol glycosides (after hydrolysis); ginkgolides A, B, C; bilobalide; rutin (limit test); quercetin (limit test) | Total flavonol glycosides ≥22%; terpene lactones ≥5%; rutin ≤4% (prior to hydrolysis); quercetin ≤0.5% (prior to hydrolysis) per USP | USP Ginkgo monograph — mandatory HPLC limit tests introduced 2015/2016 |
| Echinacea purpurea Extract | Cichoric acid, caftaric acid, echinacoside (roots); alkylamides (Echinacea angustifolia distinction) | Marker compound profile distinguishes species; alkylamides vs. polysaccharide dominance indicates product type and clinical research applicability | USP Echinacea monographs (three species with distinct requirements) |
| Ashwagandha (Withanolides) | Withaferin A, withanolide D, withanolide A | Total withanolides ≥X% of declared; withanolide ratio profile consistent with Withania somnifera root; detect substitution with other Withania species or synthetic steroidal compounds | USP Dietary Supplement Compendium; ISO standard for ashwagandha |
Table 5 — HPLC Target Markers by Botanical Extract: Key Compounds, Specifications, and USP References
FDA 21 CFR Part 111 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Dietary Supplements) §111.75 states: "You must conduct at least one appropriate test or examination to verify the identity of any component that is a dietary ingredient." The regulation further specifies at §111.75(a)(1): "You must use a test method that is appropriate and scientifically valid." FDA guidance and industry enforcement actions have consistently held that UV-Vis spectrophotometry, as a non-specific method that cannot distinguish the target botanical from absorbing adulterants, does NOT constitute a specific identity test under this provision when used alone. The FDA's cGMP guidance for dietary supplements recommends organoleptic analysis, macroscopic/microscopic examination, and/or chromatographic methods (TLC, HPTLC, HPLC) for botanical ingredient identity. A cGMP audit finding of "identity testing performed by UV-Vis only" for a botanical ingredient is a documented 483 observation risk.
| Regulatory Requirement | UV-Vis Alone | HPTLC | HPLC | HPTLC + HPLC Combined |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FDA 21 CFR §111.75 — Identity testing specificity | Fails — non-specific | Satisfies identity specificity | Satisfies identity and assay | Fully satisfies both identity and potency |
| USP botanical monograph — Identity test | Not specified as primary identity method | Primary USP identity method per monograph | Secondary confirmation; primary for assay | Complete pharmacopeial compliance |
| Third-party audit (NSF, USP verification, Amazon) | Common audit finding — insufficient | Accepted as identity documentation | Accepted as potency and identity documentation | Best-practice documentation standard |
| Botanical adulterant detection capability | Cannot detect same-wavelength adulterants | Detects extraneous botanicals and synthetic adulterants | Detects individual compound ratio anomalies | Comprehensive adulterant detection |
Table 6 — Regulatory Compliance Assessment by Testing Method for Botanical Extract Identity Verification
The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) maintains specific monographs for botanical dietary supplement ingredients. Each monograph specifies the exact tests required — and for identity, HPTLC (referenced as TLC per USP <203>) is the specified method in nearly all botanical monographs. The test procedure describes: the TLC plate (stationary phase), the mobile phase composition, the derivatization reagent, the detection conditions (UV 254 nm, UV 366 nm, white light post-derivatization), the Rf zones expected for authentic material, and the reference standard to compare against.
When a USP monograph exists for a botanical ingredient, a dietary supplement manufacturer claiming to comply with USP standards must perform all tests specified in the monograph — including the HPTLC identity test. Using UV-Vis as a substitute for the HPTLC identity test does not constitute USP compliance. For ginkgo biloba extract, USP specifies: (1) HPTLC identity test; (2) HPLC assay for total flavonol glycosides; (3) HPLC limit tests for rutin (≤4%) and quercetin (≤0.5%) — three separate tests. UV-Vis does not appear as a specified test in the ginkgo monograph. The same principle applies to most USP botanical monographs.
The correct QC approach uses all three methods in a defined sequence — each answering a different question, with no single method carrying full compliance responsibility.
| Testing Layer | Method | Question Answered | Trigger for Next Layer | Compliance Role |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Layer 1 — Screening | Organoleptic (color, odor, texture) + Macroscopic/Microscopic examination | Does this look, smell, and have the correct particle morphology of the declared ingredient? | Gross anomalies (wrong color, unusual odor, foreign material) → Hold and investigate. Otherwise → Layer 2. | 21 CFR §111.75 first-line identification; rapid rejection of grossly wrong material |
| Layer 2 — Identity | HPTLC per USP <203> / validated method; comparison to authenticated botanical reference standard | Does this extract's chromatographic fingerprint match the authenticated botanical reference? | HPTLC FAIL → Hold batch; issue SCAR; investigate by HPLC-MS. HPTLC PASS → Layer 3. | Primary identity compliance per FDA 21 CFR §111.75 and USP monograph |
| Layer 3 — Potency / Purity | HPLC per validated method (HPLC-PDA or HPLC-UV) with certified reference standards | What are the exact concentrations of each target marker compound? Are adulteration-indicator ratios within specification? | HPLC FAIL on potency or marker ratios → Hold batch; issue SCAR. HPLC PASS → Layer 4. | USP assay compliance; potency label claim verification; adulterant marker limit tests |
| Layer 4 — Supplementary QC | UV-Vis (gross potency cross-check); Heavy metals ICP-MS; Microbiology; Residual solvents GC-HS | Does total chromophore content cross-check with HPLC result? Are contaminant profiles within specification? | Any parameter exceeds specification → Hold batch pending investigation. | cGMP contaminant and purity compliance; cross-check for batch consistency |
Table 7 — Orthogonal Testing Protocol for Botanical Extract Incoming QC: Four-Layer Approach
Verify our botanical identity with HPTLC chromatograms and HPLC marker compound profiles. Batch-specific COA, HPTLC plate images, and full technical dossiers available upon request.
Contact our supply chain team directly via email for rapid RFQ processing and customized MOQ arrangements.
Email: [email protected]
UV-Vis at 418 nm measures total chromophore absorbance — it cannot distinguish authentic curcuminoids from synthetic food dyes (tartrazine, sunset yellow), synthetic curcumin, or low-purity extracts spiked with quercetin or other absorbing compounds. Your third-party lab tested identity by HPTLC against an authenticated Curcuma longa reference standard. The HPTLC fingerprint requires that the correct curcumin, demethoxycurcumin, and bisdemethoxycurcumin bands appear at the correct Rf positions with the correct colors under UV and after derivatization. If the fingerprint does not match, the UV-Vis number is irrelevant — the ingredient has not been verified as authentic Curcuma longa extract. Request your supplier's HPTLC chromatogram and HPLC individual curcuminoid breakdown. If they cannot provide either, the ingredient should not be released for production.
HPLC alone is insufficient for botanical identity compliance if a USP monograph for the ingredient specifies HPTLC as the identity test. FDA 21 CFR §111.75 requires a "specific" identity test — HPLC satisfies this for identity purposes when validated for the specific botanical, but where the USP monograph specifically prescribes TLC/HPTLC as the identity test (as it does for most botanical monographs), HPLC alone does not substitute for the required HPTLC. The orthogonal approach — HPTLC for identity + HPLC for potency — is the full compliance standard. Many contract manufacturers erroneously rely on HPLC alone, creating audit exposure when reviewed by FDA or third-party certification bodies such as NSF International or USP Verification Program auditors.
Rf (retardation factor or retention factor) is the ratio of the distance a compound traveled on the TLC plate to the total distance traveled by the mobile phase solvent front. It is expressed as a decimal between 0 and 1.0. Each compound has a characteristic Rf in a defined solvent system — for example, curcumin has an Rf of approximately 0.50–0.55 in a common mobile phase (chloroform:methanol:formic acid). On an HPTLC identity report, each expected band in the authenticated reference should appear at its characteristic Rf. Your sample must show the same bands at matching Rf positions (within ±0.02 tolerance is typical). Extra bands at different Rf values indicate unknown compounds. Missing bands indicate absence of expected compounds. An Rf value alone is not fully interpretable without knowing the mobile phase, plate type, and derivatization — all must be stated on the report for the data to be meaningful.
FDA 21 CFR Part 111 does not mandate that incoming ingredient identity testing be performed at a third-party laboratory — it requires that the manufacturer conduct or verify an appropriate identity test on each lot. A supplier's in-house HPTLC result, if using a validated method with a documented authenticated reference standard and a recorded plate image, is acceptable as supplier documentation. However, for first-order supplier qualification and any high-risk botanical category (curcumin, EGCG, ginkgo, echinacea — all of which have documented adulteration histories), independent third-party HPTLC verification at an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory (Eurofins, Covance, NSF, Alkemist Labs) is strongly recommended on the first 3–5 batches before reducing to supplier-provided documentation for ongoing QC.
Tartrazine (Yellow #5, FD&C Yellow No. 5) has a UV absorption maximum at approximately 427 nm in aqueous solution, close to curcumin's λmax of 418–425 nm in organic solvents. At the concentrations used in adulterated extracts, the absorbance contribution from tartrazine is indistinguishable from curcumin's absorbance at 418 nm by UV-Vis — the instrument simply reports higher absorbance, which translates to a higher apparent curcuminoid percentage. HPTLC immediately reveals the adulteration: tartrazine is an azo dye with a very different polarity profile than curcumin. In a typical TLC solvent system for curcuminoids (chloroform:methanol mobile phase), tartrazine migrates at a completely different Rf than curcumin, DMC, or BDMC — producing a visible extra band at the wrong position that is not present in the authenticated reference standard. Additionally, derivatization with anisaldehyde-sulfuric acid reagent produces color reactions specific to authentic curcuminoids; tartrazine does not produce the characteristic orange-brown zones. The adulterant is unequivocally visible on the plate.